A Celebration of Excellence


The 2009 Taste of Nova Scotia Prestige Awards were announced on Thursday, November 5 at The Prince George Hotel in Halifax. Award recipients represent innovation and expertise in the industry and are committed to improving business and promoting culinary excellence in Nova Scotia.

“The Prestige Awards are an opportunity to recognize our Taste members and their accomplishments… a chance to celebrate the best in our province,” says Janice Ruddock, executive director of Taste of Nova Scotia. “In addition to recognizing the winners, by dividing the room into the seven regions of the province and hosting a ‘walking dinner’ we were able to represent more of our members’ products at the event.”

Taste of Nova Scotia Prestige Awards were presented in the following categories:

Taste of Nova Scotia Member of the Year
Michael Howell, Tempest World Cuisine, Wolfville

Innovative Product of the Year
Baltic Porter, Garrison Brewery, Halifax

Exporter of the Year
Glenora Inn & Distillery, Glenville

Quality Driven Member of the Year
Fox Hill Cheese House, Port Williams

Restaurant Server of the Year
Sandra Gardner, Five Fisherman, Halifax

Cuisine of the Year
Chives Canadian Bistro, Halifax

Restaurant of the Year
Restaurant Le Caveau, Grand Pré

2009 Prestige Award Winners

“The room was full of passion,” says Erik Wolf, president of the International Culinary Tourism Association (ICTA). “The people, the food, the drink, the cause…it is clear to see Nova Scotians are proud of their province and its products.”

Recently the ICTA chose Nova Scotia to host the Culinary Tourism Thought Leadership World Summit & Consumer Marketplace in September 2010. Wolf was in town for summit planning and was able to attend the Taste Prestige Awards during his site visit.

“Seeing all the wonderful and unique culinary resources in one room only affirmed Nova Scotia being the right choice for our summit,” says Wolf.

Applications for the Taste of Nova Scotia Prestige Awards were received from across the province. Nominees were selected by committee and approved by the Taste of Nova Scotia Board of Directors.

Leave a Reply